homeIndia travel guide > India government
India guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
India Government
India Government - TravelPuppy.com
India is a federal republic with some powers reserved to the 25 states. There are 7 Union Territories (Andaman and Nicobar Islands; Delhi; Chandigarh; Pondicherry; Goa, Daman and Diu; Dadra and Nagar Haveli; and Lakshadweep), which are governed from Delhi.

Central government is made up of a bicameral parliament and cabinet of ministers. Each state also has an elected assembly. The bicameral national parliament is comprised of the lower house, the Lok Sabha, which has 542 members elected by popular vote for a 5-year term and the upper house, the Rajya Sabha, with 245 members indirectly elected by the state assemblies to serve 6 years.

The president is the head of state, while executive power is vested in the prime minister who is the head of the cabinet and is generally the leader of the largest party in the Lok Sabha.
Useful travel links
India Image learn more about India
Ministry of Tourism ministry of tourism-government of India
TourismIndia information about tourism in India