homeAustralia travel guide > Australia government
Australia guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Australia Government
Australia Government - TravelPuppy.com
The bicameral Federal Parliament holds legislative power, both chambers are chosen by universal adult suffrage. The 76 member Senate serves a 6 year term, while the House of Representatives is voted in every 3 years.

The Prime Minister is the leader of the largest party in the Lower House and uses executive power at the head of a Cabinet of Ministers.

The Queen of England is officially head of state, represented locally by a Governor General. Each of Australia’s 6 states also has its own directly elected legislature, enjoying considerable autonomy in areas such as health, education and transport policy.
Useful travel links
Goverment Up to date news on the Australian government.