homeAustria travel guide > Austria government
Austria guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Austria Government
Austria Government - TravelPuppy.com
Austria is a federal republic with bicameral legislature. The 183-member National Council is elected for 4 years, the 64 members of Federal Council do not have fixed terms.

The President, elected for a 6-year term, is head of state. Executive power is held by the Chancellor, normally the leader of the largest party in parliament, who leads the cabinet of ministers.
Useful travel links
CIAWorld Factbook-UK information on the government of United Kingdom
Directgov A-Z of Central Government sites