homeIreland travel guide > Ireland visa - passport
Ireland guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Ireland Visa - Passport
Ireland Visa and Passport Information - TravelPuppy.com
  Passport Needed? Visa Needed? Return Ticket Needed?
British 1 No No
Australian Yes No No
Canadian Yes No No
USA Yes No No
Other EU 2 No No
Japanese Yes No No

Valid passport required by all except the following:

a) Persons born in the UK travelling direct from the UK (British passport holders only);

Note: Whilst UK citizens do not need a passport or visa to enter Ireland, most carriers by air or sea now require some form of identification with photograph, usually a passport or driving license with photo. Travellers are advised to check what form of ID is required with the individual airline, ferry company or travel agent before travelling.

b) Nationals of Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and The Netherlands holding a valid national photo identity card; (it is advisable to bring a valid passport).


Visas are required by all except the following:

a) Nationals of countries referred to in the chart above.

b) Nationals of Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil,Botswana, Brunei, British Dependent Territories*, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR), Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Jamaica, Kiribati, Korea (Rep), Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macau (SAR), Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Mauritius, Monaco, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak Republic (diplomatic and official passport holders only), Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela and Western Samoa.

c) Transit passengers continuing their travels within 24 hours by the same or first connecting flight provided holding valid onward or return documentation and not leaving the airport. However, the following nationals require a transit visa: Afghanistan, Albania, Bulgaria, Cuba, Congo (Dem Rep), Ethiopia, Eritrea, Ghana, Iraq, Iran, Lebanon, Moldova, Nigeria, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Somalia.


a) Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory (South Georgia, South Sandwich Islands), British Indian Ocean Territory (Chagos Archipelago, Peros Banos, Diego Garcia, Danger Island), Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands & Dependencies, Montserrat, Gibraltar, Pitcairn (Henderson, Ducie & Oneno Islands), St Helena & Dependencies (Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha), the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Turks & Caicos Islands and British Virgin Islands.

b) Certain nationals do require a transit visa at all times. This list is subject to frequent change and travellers should check with the nearest Irish Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy) before departure.

c) Persons holding a Hong Kong Certificate of Identity need an entry visa.

Types of visa and cost

 Single-entry: £20.

  Multiple-entry: £40.

  Transit: £8. Nationals from some countries receive visas free of charge. Enquire at Consulate/Consular section of Embassy for further details.

Applications and enquiries

Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy), see Contact Addresses section for details.

Application requirements

a) Completed application form.

b) Fees.

c) Letter to substantiate purpose of visit.

d) Three passport-size photos.

e) Letter from place of employment or study.

Working days required

Ten working days required for completing all procedures.