homeNorthern Ireland travel guide > Northern Ireland visa - passport
Northern Ireland guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Northern Ireland Visa - Passport
Northern Ireland passport and visa - Northern Ireland TravelPuppy
  Passport Visa Return Ticket
Australian Yes No No
Canadian Yes No No
USA Yes No No
Other EU 2 No No
Japanese Yes No No

Passport valid to the UK required by all except:
1. nationals of EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway and Switzerland with a national ID card.


(a) A passport is not needed for travel between Great Britain and Ireland, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man.
(b) Passengers transiting the UK destined for the Republic of Ireland are advised to hold return tickets to avoid delays and/or interrogation.


required by all except the following:

(a) nationals listed in the chart above

(b) nationals of American Samoa, Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bonaire, Botswana, Brazil, British Overseas Territories, Brunei, Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Curacao, Dominica, East Timor, El Salvador, Federated States of Micronesia, French Guiana, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR), Iceland, Israel, Kiribati, Korea (Rep), Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Macau (SAR), Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Saba, St Eustatius, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Maarten, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tahiti, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu and Venezuela

(c) those in transit, provided arriving and departing by air within 24 hours and holding all necessary onward documentation. Direct Airside Transit visas are required by the following countries, even if not entering the UK or changing airports during transit: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Belarus, Burma, Burundi, Cameroon, China (PR), Colombia, Congo (Dem Rep), Ecuador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, India, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lebanon, Liberia, Macedonia, Moldova, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia & Montenegro, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Turkey, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Uganda, Northern Ireland and Zimbabwe.


(a) Entry clearance is required for nationals of the following countries who intend to stay in the UK for more than 6 months: Australia, Canada, Hong Kong (SAR), Japan, Korea (Rep), Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa and the USA. (b) Nationals not requiring visas are advised to be in possession of either a return ticket or, if arriving on a one-way ticket, proof of sufficient funds to accommodate and support themselves for the duration of stay.

Types of visa and cost

Standard visit, student and visitor in transit: £36. 1-year visit: £60. 2-year visit: £70. 5-year visit: £88. 10-year visit: £150. Direct Airside Transit: £27. Fees are usually payable in the local currency and are subject to variation in both price and method of payment. Enquire at nearest High Commission/Embassy. Visa fees are not refundable.


Visit visas: 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years or 10 years; all visit visas are valid for multiple-entries within the period of validity. Visitor in transit visas are not required by those continuing their journey to a third country by the first connecting aircraft within 24 hours, provided possessing confirmed onward travel documentation (except nationals of those countries listed under (c) above). Those in transit to another country, who will remain in the UK for no longer than 48 hours, will need a visitor in transit visa. A visit visa is required for any transit stay over 48 hours.

Application to: Nearest British Consulate (or Consular section at Embassy or High Commission); see Contacts section.

Application requirement

(a) Passport valid for entire visit.
(b) Two recent passport-size photos (some nationals may require three photos).
(c) Completed application form (some nationals may be required to fill out an additional form).
(d) Fee (postal applications must be accompanied by bank draft, postal or money order only). The supplementary documentation required will vary depending on the type of application, but in all cases it is advisable to also provide
(e) Evidence of funds (bank statements or pay slips).
(f) Letter of invitation (if applicable).
(g) Evidence of sponsor's funds (if applicable).

Working days required

Dependent on nationality of applicant. Applications usually take between 1 and 10 working days. Applications that are referred to the Home Office may take up to 13 weeks.

Temporary residence

Enquiries can be made at nearest British Consulate, Embassy or High Commission.
Useful travel link
Visa Requirements Worldwide check visa requirements worldwide