homeNorway travel guide > Norway - passport
Norway guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Norway Visa - Passport
Norway Visa and Passport Information - TravelPuppy.com
  Visa Required? Passport Required? Return Ticket Required?
British No Yes No
Australian No Yes No
Canadian No Yes No
USA No Yes No
Other EU No Yes/1 No
Japanese No Yes No
On 25 March 2001 Norway became a signatory to the 1995 Schengen Agreement.

Since March 1995, a 'borderless' region known as the Schengen area has been declared covering the following states:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

Schengen countries now issue standard Schengen visas, and nationals holding visas issued by one of the Schengen countries are, in principle, permitted to travel freely within the borders of all 15. However, since Schengen states are still free to decide their own visa requirements, entry regulations may vary and nationals not requiring a visa for one Schengen country may require one for other Schengen countries. This has various practical implications and for example, travellers may be refused entry to a Schengen country for which they do not require a visa if holding onward tickets to a country for which they do require a visa. Travellers should check with the authorities of the country they intend to visit as to whether they require a visa to enter. If visiting more than 1 Schengen country, the traveller should apply for the Schengen visa to the Embassy/Consulate of the first or main country to be visited.

There are 3 types of Schengen visa: Airport Transit, Transit and Short-stay visas. For stays of over 3 months, a long-stay visa will be required, and will be valid only in the country of issue.


Passport valid for at least 3 months beyond the intended period of stay required by all.


In some circumstances, some nationals of European Union or EEA countries may travel to Norway for touristic purposes with a valid national ID card only if issued in their home country.

There are also circumstances when nationals of EU or EEA countries, plus certain other nationals, may travel to Norway with a passport that only needs to be valid during the duration of their stay and not beyond this intended period. However, since regulations are constantly changing, it is advised that all nationals contact their nearest Embassy/Consulate for further details since this passport exemption is not guaranteed and entry may be refused.


Required by all except the following for stays of up to 3 months:

a. nationals shown in the chart above

b. nationals of Andorra, Argentina, Bermuda (only holders of BDTC (Bermuda) passports), Brazil, Bolivia, Brunei, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR), Israel, Korea (Rep), Liechtenstein, Macau (SAR), Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, Singapore, San Marino, Switzerland, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela

c. nationals of Nordic countries (including Årland, Faroe Islands, Greenland and Iceland).

Types of visa and cost

A uniform type of visa, the Schengen visa, is issued for tourist, business and private visits.

The cost of a visa is £25 but prices are subject to frequent change against the exchange rate and a Fee is payable when visa is issued. Enquire at the Embassy for further information.

Cost of Visa Conversion Table:

£10 US$18
£30 US$55
£50 US$91
£60 US$109
£70 US$127
£90 US$164
£100 US$182
£120 US$218
£150 US$273


Spouses and children of European Union or EEA nationals (providing spouse’s/dependent's passport and birth certificate and [if applicable] the original marriage certificate are produced), and nationals of some other countries, receive their visas free of charge (enquire at Embassy for information).


Up to 3 months in any 6 month period. For renewal or extension, apply to the Embassy.


Consulate (or the Consular section at Embassy. An appointment must first be booked (telephone number: (09065) 540 725, for United Kingdom residents not residing in Scotland or Northern Ireland).

If applying in the United Kingdom and living within the London area, all applications must be lodged in person at the Embassy. Travellers visiting just 1 Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of that country, travellers visiting more than one Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of the country chosen as the main destination or the country they will enter first, if they have no main destination.

Application requirements

a. Valid passport with at least 1 blank page and this should not be submitted until the applicant is informed that a visa has been granted.

b. Completed application form.

c. 2 recent passport-size photos.

d. Fee, payable in cash (the exact money only), cheque supported by a cheque card or postal order (visa fees are non-refundable and payable on submission of the visa application).

e. Further documentation such as a letter of invitation, proof of accommodation or a letter from an employer explaining nature and duration of stay may be required, depending on purpose of the visit.

f. Evidence of sufficient funds for stay (a recent original bank statement, travellers cheques or credit card with credit limit statement, cash not accepted).

g. Parental consent for minors (under 18 years).

h. Evidence of occupation or student status. If unemployed, social security booklet must be submitted.

i. Proof of adequate and valid travel insurance (valid throughout the Schengen territory and win a minimum coverage of €30,000).

Working days required

The length of processing time depends on nationality and individual circumstances.

Temporary residence

Apply to Embassy for residence and work permit if the stay exceeds 3 months.
Useful travel link
Visa Requirements Worldwide check visa requirements worldwide