homeRussia travel guide > Russia general info
Russia guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Russia General Info
Russia General Information - TravelPuppy.com

17,075,400 sq km (6,592,850 sq miles).


145,164,000 (official estimate 2002).

Population Density

8.5 per sq km.




The Russian Federation covers almost two times the area of the USA, and reaches from Moscow in the west over the Urals and the vast Siberian plains to the Sea of Okhotsk in the east. The border between European Russia and Siberia is formed by the Ural Mountains, the Ural River and the Manych Depression. European Russia stretches from the North Polar Sea across the Central Russian Uplands to the Black Sea, the Northern Caucasus and the Caspian Sea. Siberia extends from the West Siberian Plain across the Central Siberian Plateau between Yenisey and Lena, including the Sayan, Yablonovy and Stanovoy ranges in the south to the East Siberian mountains between Lena and the Pacific coast, including the Chukotskiy and Kamchatka peninsulas.
Republic Area (sq km) Population 000’s Capital
Adygheya 7600 447 Maikop
Altai 92,600 203 Gorno-Altaisk
Bashkortostan 143,600 4103 Ufa
Buryatia 351,300 981 Ulan-Ude
Chechnyat N/A 1100 Grozny
Chuvashia 18,300 1314 Cheboksary
Daghestan 50,300 2584 Makhachkala
Ingushetia* N/A 469 Magas
Kabardino-Balkariya 12,500 901 Nalchik
Kalmykiya 75,900 292 Elista
KarachayevoCherkessiya 14,100 440 Cherkessk
Kareliya 172,400 717 Petrozavodsk
Khakassiya 61,900 546 Abakan
Komi 415,900 1019 Syktyvkar
Marii-El 23,200 728 Yoshkar-Ola
Mordoviya 26,200 889 Saransk
Northern Osetiya 8000 710 Vladikavkaz
Sakha (Yakutiya) 3,103,200 948 Yakutsk
Tatarstan 68,000 3780 Kazan
Tyva 170,500 306 Kyzyl
Udmurtiya 42,100 1571 Izhevsk

*Until 1992, territories of the Republic of Chechnya and the Ingush Republic were combined in the Chechen-Ingush autonomous republic (area 19,300 sq km).


Republic since 1991.

Head of Government: President Vladimir Putin since 2000.



English, German or French are spoken by some people.


Mostly Christian with the Russian Orthodox Church being the largest Christian community.

Muslim, Jewish and Buddhist minorities also exist.


The Russian Federation is divided into 11 time zones. Summer time is + 1 from last Sunday in March to Saturday before last Sunday in October.
GMT + 2. Moscow, St Petersburg, Astrakhan:
GMT + 3. Izhevsk and Samara:
GMT + 4. Perm – Nizhnevartovsk:
GMT + 5. Omsk and Novosibirsk:
GMT + 6. Norilsk, Kyzyl:
GMT + 7. Bratsk – Ulan Ude:
GMT + 8. Chita, Yakutsk:
GMT + 9. Khabarovsk, Vladivostok:
GMT + 10. Magadan, Yuzhno Sakhalinsk:
GMT + 11. Petropavlosk:
GMT + 12.


220 volts AC, 50Hz.
Useful travel links
World Fact Book Information on Russia