homeSpain travel guide > Spain government
Spain guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Spain Government
Spain Government -

The 1978 constitution created a bicameral parliament called Cortes, divided into the Congress of Deputies and the Senate which holds legislative power. The 350-strong Congress is elected every 4 years by proportional representation, while the 202 senators are chosen by direct election. There are also 17 autonomous regions, the governments of which are elected every 4 years.

Useful travel links
Directgov A-Z of Central Government sites