homeSweden travel guide > Swedish Lakeland
Sweden guide
Traveler café 
Travel directory
Last updated : Nov 2009
Swedish Lakeland
Swedish Lakeland -
This region includes the 9 provinces of Värmland, Dalsland and Västergötland in the west, Dalarna, Närke and Västmanland in the north, and Östergötland, Södermanland and Uppland to the east.

These provinces form a large part of Sweden with a mixture of vast lakes, open water, plains and meadows and large areas of wild natural scenery. The provinces in the west are dominated by Vänern, Sweden’s largest lake, while in the north and east are the lakes of Hjälmaren, Vättern, Mälaren and Siljan as well as the Baltic Sea.

The whole region is considered to be the cradle of Swedish culture, and it is here that the majority of Swedes live. There is a wide variety of hotels, campsites and country inns for visitors.

Västergötland has the castle of Läckö, the Trollhättan hydro electric waterfalls, fishing and canoe trips. Närke contains the Stjerhov Manor, and a 17th century inn can be visited at Grythyttan, which is in Västmanland.

Visitors can meet Father Christmas at the Santaworld theme park in Dalarna, on the island of Sollerön there are Viking graves and in Kolmården there is a zoo and safari park.

Gripsholm Castle is in Södermanland, and the university city of Uppsala swanks Scandinavia’s largest Cathedral and the Baroque Castle of Skokloster, with a vintage car museum.